Starting with shopware: do you need to be a developer?

I am a store owner and Woocommerce users.
I’d like to learn other platforms and Shopware seems very interesting.
However I am not a developer: My WooCommerce stores are built with page builders and plugins, without writing a single line of code.
Is it possible to do the same with Shopware or coding skills are required?

And also, another question is: how is Shopware better than WooCommerce?

Hey tom and welcome to the forum!

In general I think, you don’t really need to be a programmer, but you need to know a few technical things before you’re ready to install your first Shopware instance. First of all you need access via FTP to a Webserver, for uploading the shopware installation folder to your server and you need to be able to create an empty database.

If you are completely new to Shopware, unfortunately you have to do some read work first, starting at this point: Shopware 6 - Getting Started
If you can’t hold it, jump to this page and scroll to the headline „Downloading Shopware“: Shopware 6 - First Steps - Installation

Please check with your provider beforehand whether all system requirements are met and the DNS settings have been made correctly.

Shopware’s content pages are based on a Page Builder, too. But it’s much less dynamic, as the wordpress’ page builder are, like Elementor. But no worries, the Plugin store’s got you! Shopware brings a whole bunch of Plugins, which can add missing features, or also to include a much better page builder.

Shopware is more suitable than Woocommerce simply because it was designed entirely as shop software. Shops based on Wordpress often have the problem of not being legally compliant, which can lead to expensive written warnings in some countries. In addition, the management of orders, customers and products is simply better in pure shop systems because they do not have to follow the framework conditions of the higher-level system.