Extending Existing Core Classes and Models

Hi experts,

I am new to Shopware development and I have developed some minor internal projects. But I have been facing problem when it comes to extending some class or models. I am also an OXID developer and honestly I find OXID achitecture much more simpler than Shopware architecture. OXID allows extending of any classes even Core classes with a simple syntax. I tried to implement the same logic in shopware when I planned to create the same module for Shopware. But unfortunately I haven’t found any proper solution.

Let me give an example:

I added some new columns to articles table and I want to now set functions for them like setValue or getValue in modelEntity. Or I want to write new function in article Repository. But I have no idea how to do that. The examples I find on Shopware Community are not that much helpful. No idea on how to use events or Hooks for this. As a result I had to create separate model, repository for my functionality. Another think I can think of is using Doctrine ORM Relations to combine to tables.

Another example: I know how dispatch and hooks works, but compared to hooks dispatch method completely useless. I mean if I want to change something in the middle of an event_controller or action e.g. getListAction, how can I do that? Hooks does allows it, but all classes are not hookable right? Same goes for the Bundle classes, I wanted to add just one line of condition to make it work as per my requirement. But I could not find any way. 

Please please please, help me get more information on development process. I have more similar doubts but one at a time will be better.

Appreciate your feedback :slight_smile:

BR

Hi,

always happy to help. As there are some general questions, its hard to point out a single document, that will answer all your questions. Regarding the database schema extension: http://community.shopware.com/_detail_1441.html